Small town problems

Me, I am a small town girl, I have been all my life and I am proud. Yet, I feel sad when I think about the rest of my small town people, not only from my town but many small towns around the world. Now I am not referring to everybody I am just speaking in general. Please this is merely my opinion.

We tend to live in this world where everybody wants to be like somebody, or wants to be better than somebody. They call it society, they say ‘society is a mess’ and blames society for everything that goes wrong, what they do not know is that they are society, they are part of creating society.

This has been weighing on me for a while, and as mentioned I don’t share my posts, I post them and if you read them you read them, if you don’t you don’t. And this is just another one of them. My poor confidence does not allow me to share this all over social media and I don’t really speak out, but just the other day I was browsing through facebook and I read a status one of my social media acquaintances posted. Please keep in mind that this person is very open minded and states truth and facts no matter what the consequences, which is definitely a good thing.

This person posted the following” I’ve been saying this all the time and I’ll say it again. Ladies you do not have to have a boyfriend or sex!!!”

I was rebellious and I asked  “why not? and the response was : “You can do without it and you are better off without it” I get that, but why is society telling me I am not ? and why is this statement made towards ladies only? When men cannot live without it, or claim they cannot live without it? and if you as a female say no, they play the disappearing act? Our conversation went back and forth for some time where we eventually concluded that the final answer all depends on US ladies, which is true, if you say no, its no. If he wants to go, let him. That man ain’t worth a dime if all he wants is sex from you.

Now, back to that small town and wanting to be like somebody else, or even better than somebody else. I know we were all taught to have a role model, but this is not the case. This is not having a role model, in small towns it is more like a competition. ” She has x amount of kids, so I want Z amount of kids”, “She has him, but now I also want to be with him” and no I am not speaking from experience, not because I am better because I am not, but because I know what I want in life and for my future.

Yes, I’m a mess most of the time and you can see that by what I post, but ladies competing is not going to get you anywhere in life. I’m not saying don’t have kids,have as much as you like, but first accomplish your hopes and dreams, goals and ambition, I’m sure we all learnt about that the same time they taught us about role models and competing. Get education first, there are many ways to go about finding bursaries, finding financial help. It is possible believe me.

Do not allow society, that we have all been part of creating swallow you and drag you down to not accomplishing your goals and dreams. There is a big wide world out there and that guy that wants to run away can be replaced, those kids you would like to have, they can still happen after you have educated yourself well enough to look after them, care for them and raise them well, also to be an example to them, so they can have somebody to look up to one day.

All my small town ladies, be different! Be an actual Role model!

That’s it for now.

Chow

xoxo

Published by Cleo's Journal

I love writing and being out doors, so be prepared to read about various topics. My Passion is writing and I am also a Journalism Graduate, who would love to travel the world and explore and get to know different nationalities and cultures.

Leave a comment